September 11, 2001… attack of the bees?

Just like almost anyone living near New York during the time, I can remember exactly where I was when the World Trade Centers were attacked on September 11th. I was in fourth grade going to elementary school in New Jersey. A location that is literally 20 minutes away from New York City. Because we were children, the school did not feel obligated to tell is what happen, at least right when it happened. Although the attack happened around 8:15 in the morning, we continued our day without knowing anything. As kids we definitely noticed something strange was happening, other children were being taken out of school more and more as the day progressed. I even remember seeing my teacher crying in the hallway and not understanding why. By the time lunch came around, the lunchroom had probably only 30 students sitting in it, which was less than one third of the normal amount. We as kids were noticing this and made up our own assumptions as to why this was happening. “Well we aren’t allowed to go on the playground at recess, that’s because there is a huge amount of bees outside and they don’t want us getting attacked.” Said one girl. “I’m deadly allergic, I definitely can’t go outside then!” Said a boy listening in on the conversation. This rumor got around to the rest of the students and we were sure we solved the problem of why everyone was acting so weird. At the end of the day there was an announcement anyone waiting for their parents to pick them up must wait in the cafeteria. This was when the principal finally told the students the truth. After this my mom finally picked me up and all I could remember saying to her was “Next time this happens make sure you pick me up early from school.” That’s because I did not even understand what happened and I just wanted an excuse to leave school early.

When I got home, I noticed that every single television station had only one thing on it, no matter what type of station it was suppose to be. It was that reoccurring image of two planes crashing into the Twin Towers. To this day, I will never forget the image of what the television showed and the sounds I heard from it. The people screaming, New York City streets filled with smoke, the two airplanes, seeing people jump out of buildings, and so much more.

 

September 11, 2001 is a day I will never forget, no matter how young I was. Living where I did certainly affected how I see this day because I was so close to the location and knew people that personally were affected. Image

One thought on “September 11, 2001… attack of the bees?

  1. Thanks Stacie for sharing your story. Isn’t it amazing what we remember, even after so much time has past? These images resonate so strongly in our minds, so strong that we don’t even need to see the pictures to remember it. Great story.

Leave a Reply

